What’s in my bag – 2020

I realised today that the last time I wrote this post was in 2017 and I was still using my first camera, the trusty Nikon D3400. Whilst that little guy has gone on to a new home, I figured it was time to update this section, as so much has changed since then.

First off is my camera body. I finally went full frame in November of 2019 and currently carry my Z6 with me at all times.

Nikon Z6 – Mirrorless FX with 24.5 MP sensor

More often than not these days, my go to lens is the Z 24-70mm f2.8. It’s the perfect range for most of my photos within the travel photography realm and I absolutely love the sharpness and colour quality of the pictures.

Nikkor Z 24-70mm f2.8 S-Line

For ultra-wide angle landscape shots, my go to is the new Z 14-30mm f4 and I seriously cannot stress enough how much I love this lens. Aside from it being ultra-wide and catching all the things I used to miss with my D500 and 16-80mm, again, the picture quality of the Z lenses is so nice and this guy is super compact!

Nikkor Z 14-30mm f4 S-Line

For long distance compression, I love the 70-300mm f4.5-5.6. I don’t do all that much telephoto stuff, so I didn’t feel like it was necessary to spend the extra money on the f2.8 and I’ve so far not been disappointed by this option with my FtZ adapter!

Nikkor F 70-300mm f4.5-5.6E ED VR

So there you have it, the three lens kit I have with me at any one time. I am loving shooting full frame and although changing lenses on the Z6 is the most stressful thing in life with how close the sensor is to the opening, I love the compact lifestyle the mirrorless body and Z mount lenses bring.

If you have any questions about any of the gear I carry, shoot a comment down below and I’ll be happy to answer!

Happy shooting, H x

Leave a comment